Dakar Rally 2017 Route Revealed


26 April 2016

The long awaited route for the 2017 Edition of the Dakar Rally was announced this morning by the Amaury Sport Organisation (ASO).

The host countries will be Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina.  Paraguay becomes the 29th different nation to host the start.

Competitors can expect around 9,000km of racing from the start podium in Asunción (Paraguay’s capital) to La Paz in Bolivia and the finish line in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Dakar Rally 2017 Route


Race director Etienne Lavigne has said: “We will obviously go higher this time as we will head to La Paz. We will have four completely new stages which will allow us once again to surprise the competitors in geographically different and challenging environments, very varied terrain and with changing weather conditions. The changing weather systems plays an important role in the Dakar because it can – from one day to the next – completely change the racing conditions”.

The 38th running of the Dakar will be the ninth to be held in South America.

Mark your diaries for January 2 – 14.